Georgia and Armenia join EU science programme

Two more non-EU countries, Georgia and Armenia, have joined the EU’s Horizon 2020 programme in the past few weeks, taking the total number of non-EU countries taking part in EU research networks to 16. As associated members of Horizon 2020, both countries will make a financial contribution according to their GDP’s, and as a result will be treated in exactly the same way as EU members. You can read the respective announcements as follows:

> Association of Georgia to Horizon 2020

> Association of Armenia to Horizon 2020

The participation of 16 non-EU countries in the EU’s research programme is undeniable proof that the UK does not require political union in order to pursue scientific collaborate with the rest of Europe.